Hello, My Name is Susan

Archive for November 2nd, 2009

I’ll do the “woot” first since well, this is my blog!  Last night I realized that we didn’t have any water.  Okay, it was after 2am but still.  I told Hubby & we tried to think what was wrong since we have a 1400 gal holding tank.  It dawned on both of us that we hadn’t heard the well in a few days (the pump is very noisy).  So we tried to sleep thinking it was something best dealt w/ during the day but of course @ 3:43 I was still awake worrying.  So I got up & went & checked.  Turns out the screw had come off the cover & that let the top slip off during our big wind storm last week.  This means that the connections couldn’t meet.  I put the cover back & on voila!  The pump turned on!  Can I hear a woot, woot?

In “oh, NO” news.  The neighbor girl & Princess Diva were swinging on our two rope swings when the ng’s pants became entwined w/ the rope.  This happened once before & @ the time I was a little concerned that I might have to cut her out of her pants since it was so tightly wound up.  This time it wasn’t as bad but guess who was out there in a nightdress trying to unhook the little girl when the bus came?  No guesses?  All right, it was me.  I kept my butt to the bus & didn’t look up as I ran for my house.  Talk about being embarrassed.  I figured I’d post it here since I’ve done the same to my kids, right?  And I’ve totally banned the neighbor girl from the swing in the am!!

So.  Think my kids will be scarred for life since their friends had to see mom in her nightie?  @ least all of the important bits were covered even if I was letting it all hang out.  @ least we don’t have neighbors who are up & about @ that time of the day!

Tags:

Hmmmm.  Well, I’ve been putting this off for a bit but I have to admit it.  My dr was right.  According to the endocrinologist, my thyroid levels are fine.  He did take pity on me & tell me that it could be my pituitary gland but chances are slim to non.  As in pretty much non-existant.  My pituitary is in the running only because I had a mild concussion in my later teen years.  I haven’t even gone & done the blood work yet because I don’t want it confirmed that I’m just plain nuts.  In a semi okay way, of course!

On the positive side, my mom (btw, thanks again, mom!) suggested that I start taking a B vitamin.  I ended up w/ a complex B & I have to admit that they are helping.  I wasn’t sleeping well (even w/ sleeping pills – yet another thing to thank menopause for!!) so I stopped taking them for two days & my irritability came back w/ a vengeance.  It was pretty ugly although the next day I took the vitamins & I was able to cope again.

In other news we all survived Halloween.  No goblins took us away & in fact we got to see some adorable babies & some pretty creative costumes.  I have to admit to being impressed by anyone who makes a good costume or has a decent idea & follows it through.  I was pretty impressed by the sponge bob costume that a boy made out of a box.  There was also a witch @ Princess Diva’s school parade whose mom made her costume including the hat.  This thing was good enough to have come out of a high end costume shop.  It was amazing.  I have a sister who sewed dinosaur costumes for all three of her children last year too.  I just don’t have that talent although I am pretty good w/ a credit card!  *hee,hee*

Spring is coming back!  We’re going to be in the 80’s again although up north gets to be in the 90’s.  Last years Christmas parade was in the 60’s & the darn thing lasted over 4 1/2 hrs.  We only stayed for 3 1/2 hrs of it.  Pretty incredible!  Maybe I should look into opening up the pool again?  Just kidding.  @ 54F it’s a little cold even for Prince Valiant!

Speaking of Prince Valiant, whose report card last year looked like the alphabet, he is indeed as smart as we thought.  In fact his English teacher wants him in her honors class.  So, no more fooling us!  He better keep up that “A”.  Plus his lit/social studies/home room  (odd combo, I know) teacher told me that he tends to speak above the other kids when they get into group discussions.  As in, he speaks on more of an adult level.  He’s so busted!  I had to add all of this cause we’ve had such a hard time w/ him & grades.  Oh & he got a B- in Spanish!  Since he flunked it the first couple of terms (when they’re younger @ our school they only have 1 term a year however they start in kindergarten w/ Spanish) we’re pretty happy.

Princess Diva is doing her usual perfect report card.  Her teacher loves her & I love that.  It’s always nice when your child’s teachers actually like the child.  Makes it easier for everybody.

Hubby & I are talking about leaving for my parent’s even earlier.  That way we can head up to visit his dad & stepmom & some aunts & cousins before Thanksgiving.  I’m so excited I can’t hardly stand it.  Only one of my sib’s will be absent; the rest of us (4 plus hubby’s & kids) will be @ my parent’s for Thanksgiving.  I’m just so excited.  The last time we spent a holiday like this was @ my house two years ago.  Before that it was the wedding of my youngest sister, over 5 (almost 6) years ago.

A couple of things we’re going to do is go here for cheese.  I remember as a child going up to the factory & getting fresh cheese including cheese curds.  Nobody makes cheese curds like Gossner’s.  I’m also planning on getting @ least a couple of bricks (like you see in the deli case @ the grocery store) for grating & freezing.  Plus we’ll have to have some just to eat.  Of course, I have to get swiss & mozzarella while we’re there too.  Oh & long life milk.  That’s the stuff that you can keep in the pantry & then put in the fridge for a few hours before drinking.  Good stuff that.

Then we’re planning on visiting Taffy Town in Salt Lake.  We watched a show on the food channel called unwrapped & they profiled Taffy Town a couple of different times.  Actually 3 of my sister’s are going to try to go w/ us to that one.  We’re all looking forward to that.  Just follow the link here & you’ll see why.  Did you notice how many different flavors of taffy they have?!?!  We’re all salivating just thinking about going there!

Am I getting excited about Thanksgiving?  Why, no, of course not.  Why ever would you think that?  We also get to see my Grandma again.  I only have one living & I love her to death.  She’s a pretty neat lady.  I love to listen to her stories.  When she tells stories of herself as a young person I’m amazed to realize what a hellion she was.  Of course she’d deny it but it still shines through.  The thing is that if you were to meet her you’d never belive it.  She’s this tiny little person who always looks so elegant.

Phew!  If you made it through all of that I’m impressed.  Some of that was dry & dull.  What can I say.  It’s almost midnight & I’m tired.  Thank heaven Arizona doesn’t do daylight savings time although I’ve always like the “fall back” aspect of things.  Hmm, think I could persuade the rest of the state to just do that part of it?  Just think.  If we did it we’d eventually go back in time!  Right?  *snort, giggle, gasp*  I’m so funny!  Okay.  I’ll go to bed now.  Night.


Sues2u2

November 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives