Hello, My Name is Susan

I usually don’t post food…

Posted on: January 15, 2011

… on here but I really needed to make an exception to this recipe.  Lately I’ve been almost craving it & it’s so easy & delicious!  I found it @ Taste of Home recipes & the original recipe is from Julia Bushree.  Click here for original recipe.

Anyway back to the recipe.  I’ve tweaked it a bit for us.  Little things like less garlic (it upsets Hubby’s tummy) & I’ve added things like jalapenos & zucchini for taste & just because I had them.  So a few photos to wet your appetite & remember that you can control the amount of spice you put in.

The cast of characters…

plus this…

a couple of closeups…

This is what it looks like after you add all the ingredients…

& after it’s simmered for a bit the juices start to appear…

& finally the finished product.  Look @ how juicy & yummy that is.  I really wish you could all smell how absolutely delicious my house smells.  Oh & you serve it over rice.  I like brown but Hubby prefers white.  Guess what?  I win!  I don’t even buy white rice!  bwa, ha, ha, ha, ha!!!

Louisiana Red Beans & Rice

4 cans (16 oz each) kidney beans, rinsed & drained

1 can (14 1/2 oz) diced tomatoes, undrained

1 package (16 oz) Johnsonville New Orleans Brand Andouille recipe

1 C chicken broth (I use organic no-fat cause it’s lower in sodium)

3 celery ribs, chopped

1 lg onion, chopped

1 med green pepper, chopped

1 small sweet red pepper, chopped

2 – 3 jalapeno peppers, chopped

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 bay leaf

1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

2 – 3 zucchini, chopped

Hot cooked rice

In a 6qt slow cooker, combine the first 12 ingredients.  Cover & cook on low for 8 – 10 hrs or until heated through.  About 30 min before serving add zucchini.  Stir before serving.  Discard bay leaf.

Serve w/ rice.  Makes 9 servings.

6 Responses to "I usually don’t post food…"

Looks good! But I’m not really a pepper fan, so I would probably leave those out.

Actually you cook it for so long that the peppers become part of the soup & you can’t really taste the individual flavors of them. This is a really fantastic dish. My husband doesn’t much care for reg peppers either but he loves the stuff.

That looks really yummy! I’m going to have to try it (minus the jalapenos); the recipe we’ve been using is very bland. Of course the kids are going to freak out but who cares!

Love freaked out kids! bwa,ha,ha,ha,ha! Just kidding. I told you it looks delicious. It is sooooo good.

This is a very unusual recipe, different from the “standard” ones in NOLA.

Welcome, Simple. This recipe is very different but it still has that distinctive flavor plus you get all of the benefits of such yummy & fresh produce.

Leave a Reply

Sues2u2

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

