Hello, My Name is Susan

I was reading…

Posted on: January 3, 2011

this over @ My Real Life Was Backordered, she is a wonderfully humorous author btw, & I decided that she’s right.  But this year my kids had absolutely no complaints about our Christmas cards (which they signed cause my hand was out of commission & I’m still getting phone calls about the ones the Princess signed since she drew pictures in several plus she underlined the important words in the pithy little saying in the card.  Words like Love, Jesus Christ, Christmas, Family & so on & so on.)  Truly, if you were one of the fortunate ones to receive one of her works of art you’d know what I mean.  And the Prince’s weren’t too shabby either.  No cool artwork but he signed all of our names & wished every one a Happy Holiday season.  Oh & the Princess signed hers love, the Princess, Mommy, Daddy & the Prince.  But if you’ll bear w/ me here I’ll eventually get into why I’m rambling on like this.

Before Christmas & before I’d written my Christmas letter, I read Annie’s post about the five things you should consider before you send your Christmas card. It truly inspired me.  Unfortunately not in quite the way I was envisioning but still, beggars can’t be choosers, eh?  See I was going for the whole humerus aspect here but what I got instead kinda fell flat.  Aww, you’ll see.

Note.  Names have been changed to protect the maybe innocent.  Also, Hubby helped & I blame him for it not sounding funny.  Seriously.  I asked for help & well, lets just leave it @ that!

Dear Loved Ones,

Twas the night before Christmas & all through the house, every creature was stirring yes, even the bugs.

The stockings weren’t hung by the chimney with care for you see there’s no fireplace when it’s 73F!

The children aren’t nestled all snug in their beds but rather they’re outside playing soccer instead.

I’m not in my kerchief & Hubby’s not in his cap but, give us a minute we’re trying to nap.

Out in the yard there arose such a clatter; I sprang from my computer chair to see what was the matter.

When what to my wondering eyes (& nose) should appear?  But a stinky, black & white skunk just munching his lunch.   Immediately I gagged & called out to the dog, “Get out of there quick before you get skunked!”

That skunk was amazing with his black & white tail; he twitched & he shimmied as he danced round & round.  With a wave & a flutter he sprayed all around; including the dog, door, pool & dog (to say nothing of the foolish boys – a close call they did have).

In the end it didn’t matter as all was soon over (well, except for the lingering smell) & the skunk he did leave us to sort over the matter.  But as he did leave us I heard him grunt out, Merry Christmas to all & to all some good smells!

Barring our skunk incidence we’re all doing fine.  The kids are growing like weeds & seem to be having fun.  Hubby & I are doing pretty good too.  We miss you all & wish we could see you soon (extra hands for the skunk cleaning party!).

Love,

Hubby, Susan, the Prince & the Princess

My sister just called & let me know that my comments were off.  It was annoying but, success was finally achieved!  Not something fun to work on when you have a bad (trust me, I’m dying here) head cold.


8 Responses to "I was reading…"

Oh my gosh, I love it. You are a brilliant rhyming genius.

Yep, that’s me, the comedian. Actually you did inspire me & I did have fun until I was ready to tear my hair out since it wasn’t coming together well.

I loved your card and your poem and the post that you linked to is also hilarious.

Aww, thanks. Yeah, both of those bloggers (Annie commented above) are wonderful!

This is terrific, Sue! And thanks for the shout-out! I love that your kids drew pix and signed your cards for you. How cute is that?

Thanks, DeNae. Yeah, some days they are pretty cute & it helps me to remember why I’ll always keep them. *wink*

I never follow anyone else’s advice on how to write my own Christmas letter. However annie’s is pretty darn good..rofl. I liked your card. I have a few friends that write the same old boring crud every year-then I have the ones that I just can’t wait to hear from. Sometimes they are funny, sometimes even sad but you know, they are from the heart and that is what matters. Happy New Year!

Lissa, I usually do write the same old, same old. After reading Annie’s advice I couldn’t help but be inspired, ya know? Plus it was kind of a weird time for us so humerus seemed best. Or @ least an attempt! Happy New Year to you too!

Leave a Reply

Sues2u2

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

