Hello, My Name is Susan

You know it’s Senior day when…

Posted on: April 27, 2010

Hmmm, you know that the day isn’t going well when your car has been bumped by another vehicle, an old woman calls you a bad name & the first thing you do upon arriving home isn’t to kiss your family hello but rather to run to the Ladies room (I won’t expound upon that last bit.  I’m pretty sure it’s self explanatory! grin)

I love people who are older than me by a number of years.  Yep, that means Senior Citizens and not just because I hope to be one some day.  Nope, I happen to find the vast majority of them mighty interesting people.  My grandfather remembered the first automobile in his hometown.  As a matter of fact his dad (okay, my great-grandfather) bought it & it was used!  Or how about the fact that when he first laid eyes upon my grandmother he told his brother that he could marry a girl like that?  True stories both of them.  Oh & what about the fact that my grandmother cut choir class & one of her friend’s marked her present on the roll anyway?  Stories like those are just so fun to me.  It’s great to learn about others pasts & some of the wonderful things they’ve seen & done in their lifetimes.

All of that aside?  Don’t go to Costco in the Big City on a Monday.  Apparently there was a memo that went out saying it was Senior only day & that if you went you were taking your life into your own hands!  Why, you ask?  Well, I had no sooner parked & was getting the sun shade in the front window (a must when you are in a city w/ tons of sun!) than an older gentleman (let’s just call him Buffalo Bill because of his big & fancy pick-em-up truck) pulls into the parking slot in front of me & proceeds to “bump” my bumper!  Startled me half to death!  I got my things & went & looked but luckily there was no damage because Buffalo Bill was @ the back of his truck unloading a wheel chair for his passenger!  When I mentioned to him that he startled me half to death he just chuckled & told me that can happen!

So I decide to cut my losses & head on in.  I had to dodge several little old ladies out for their Sunday constitutionals (yeah, I don’t think they realized that they were late) & I swear (not really, I’m really working on not doing that!) one of them aimed for me & followed me to the door!  Ahem. Where was I?  Oh, yes.  I went inside & almost had to fight an old man for a flat bed cart.  I’m not certain why he wanted it because when I saw him later in the store all he had was socks but whatever.  I get inside & it’s packed.  I mean it was almost wall to wall carts in places.  It’s usually not that bad before Christmas!  (Maybe the snowbirds don’t have Costco where they’re from?  Just a thought)  It was pretty exciting though because I was playing bumper cars w/ the carts & once I got the water loaded on mine maneuvering got really tricky.  As I was getting my water though I realized that everyone had gray hair.  Well, except for the 3 other younger women who were there.  They all had looks of desperation on them that I’m not sure was attributable to the babies/toddlers that were w/ them.  I wondered on the drive home if maybe they were all there only for the diapers & then decided to heck w/ it & did more shopping.  That might explain the sheer terror on one woman’s face as she was trying to save her toddler from the cart welding maniac who sure looked to be aiming for the little tyke.

So I dodged carts but don’t even get me started about the mobs who were strategically located around all of the food demos.  I think if I had actually tried to get a sample I would’ve been tarred &  feathered.  I actually heard grumbling when one old man reached in for a drink!  I felt like yelling that there was a whole try full.  Did they really need more than one? Although really, it looked like an old coffee shop where everyone just sits around & gossips while they drink their joe.

When I made it to the front it looked like a new Wal-Mart opening.  I had to dive back into the candy aisles (that was so stinking hard!  Have you ever had their macadamia caramel chocolates? YUMMMMMM I did successfully make it past them btw) in order to get into one of the check out lanes.  I wasn’t paying attention for five seconds & almost lost my place in line.  As a matter of fact, I looked up & got back into position just as a Senior couple tried to cut in front of me.  If there hadn’t been about four couples behind me I think I would’ve found myself very hurt.  She sure glared enough & then the woman actually called me a bad name as they walked off!

But enough of all that.  There was one positive aspect to the whole day, well besides the fact that I got what I needed & made it out of there alive.  As I left the store I headed for the aisle that I thought I had parked in but I was actually one aisle too far to the left.  I turned around & headed back to the proper aisle & heard a couple laughing.  The woman jokingly told me that she did that all the time.  Then they walked by the muffins that had fallen off my cart & headed inside.  Phew…@ least they didn’t run them over!

The moral to this story is, if you get inside a store & all you see are gray hairs/heads, turn around & RUN the other way!  lol

8 Responses to "You know it’s Senior day when…"

Oh I loved your comments about shopping at Costco on Mondays. I have to say, I am one of those gray haired people and I don’t think I’d go there on Mondays. I have learned a lot. I’d rather fight the Mom’s with toddlers/babies — well maybe I’ll just go when there isn’t so much competition for the aisles and check out.

See you soon.

Love ya

You’re funny, Mom. I don’t think you & dad go around bumping into other people’s cars w/ your monster truck & since I’ve been to Costco w/ you I know that you don’t crowd around the samples OR call people bad names. The funniest part about that women was that she was dressed so nicely. Nice diamonds, nice necklace. Maybe she’s lived around us lower class people too long?! ha,ha

love ya too

I really hate Costco sometimes. But they do give delicious samples.

I couldn’t tell you about the samples yesterday but there sure were a lot of them. I couldn’t even get down the frozen chicken aisle! Yeah, going to Costco is like going to Wal-Mart in Layton; a vastly overrated proposition!

I’m awfully glad you survived and I’m very proud of you for making it past the candy!

And, I know that quite a few of those snowbirds are from here and all we’ve got is a Sam’s Club so maybe they were indeed stocking up to come home. lol

Love ya

Oh, you are a funny woman! They probably were stocking up to go home! lol

really you have to know what days are SAMPLE DAYS at your particular Costco..

because they all don’t do samples the same days..

Were pretty lucky all the white hairs have about gone from our area
except the year rounds in the Sun City’s around us..

We can actually get parking at Target and Walmart now..

Parking? What’s that? lol, most of ours are gone too, but I was up in the big city (Tucson) & guess they were all just hanging out!

Leave a Reply

Sues2u2

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

