Hello, My Name is Susan

I have this problem, a doggy/neighbor problem…

Posted on: March 31, 2010

First of all.  I really like my neighbors & since there’s only three (we live in the boondocks & most people live out here so that they don’t have to see the neighbors – I only wish we’d known that before we moved here!) that I actually speak to on any kind of a regular basis it kinda behooves me to make the effort to get along w/ them.  That said I really, really, really dislike my one neighbor’s attitude towards her dogs.  Any time we (hubby, kids or I ) go over we get jumped on by one of her dogs.  I understand that he’s a young dog (under 2) but he’s also a big dog @ 98 lbs.  My whole thing w/ this is for her not to laugh & tell me what a young dog he is.  This dog has knocked over the princess & almost knocked over the rest of us.  Believe me when I say that we have severely cut down on visiting them but I pick up her daughter from school sometimes.  I really think this is the neighbor’s fault for just laughing over it even when I’ve explained that I don’t like this & that the princess was more than a little upset over being knocked over.  All of you dog lovers out there – HELP!  To me some of this is definitely the owner’s fault for not teaching the dog manners.  Am I wrong here?  What kills me is that she gets after the dog if he knocks over her little boy.  Do the rest of us not matter?  Ugh!  I need advice, people!!!  (please….)

signed,

ready for a change!

i have a big dog too.  he’s 88 lbs & is a really big baby.  he’s all over anybody who comes over (ie, likes to follow them around or bark @ anyone new) however we put him up in either the house or the back (we have a dog run but don’t use it that often because we feel that Rex needs the room to roam) so it’s not like we just don’t like dogs!

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to "I have this problem, a doggy/neighbor problem…"

I don’t have a dog, but I don’t think it’s a dog problem, it’s a person problem. I’m not sure how to handle it. Are you close with her?

Maybe you can express concern about someone getting hurt, or state you can’t come over if the job is going to jump?

Yep, tried several times. Just about drives me nuts.

I would tend to agree with you but I’ve never owned a dog so I can’t honestly say – but the least she could do is take your concern seriously and scold the dog a little so the dog understands it’s not okay – or at the very least, put him in a safe room if she knows she’s having company over.

Yep, I agree completely. We get our dogs from the pound & older so that those types of behavioral issues are usually not present!

Dear, REady for a change,

Wow, this might be a little long winded, so let me apologize now. I used to teach classes on animal behavior and 99% of all dog problems are REALLY people problems. That dog obviously doesn’t know that it is not ok to do this. the owner might scold him (or says she is) when he jumps on her child, but if he’s still jumping on everyone else, then it has not been a lesson learned.

Its important to note that he is a very large dog and large dogs CAN do alot of damage. So, with that said, you can two a couple of things. I would talk to your neighbor if this happens again and let her know that you can’t risk your daughter having an accident if the dog is going to push her over. Then stop going over…period.

The other thing is, and I prefer this one, is to carry a few dog kibble or treats in your hand. The minute the dog starts to lunge, yell really loud, NO… and knee him in the chest*. NOt hard, you don’t want to hurt him, but you want him to get the message. The SECOND he stops, give him a treat and praise him. It won’t take long for him to catch on. You have to do this all at the same time. He will associate the yelling the word NO with the knee in the chest and he will associate NOT jumping with a treat. Dogs are food motivated and I have trained many many crazy dogs this way.

Now, granted this is not your dog, nor is your responsibility to train someone elses dog, but if you want to save your friendship, you might need to resort to these methods. I really believe that there are NO bad dogs, just bad owners. Let the owner know that you learned this technique and that you want to try it on her dog. If she says know, then let her come and visit you.

*When I say “knee him in the chest”, I do not mean to slam, hit or abuse him. I mean to “push” him back down with your knee while you are saying NO.

Hope this helps

This was a BIG help! I understood that you meant more of a nudge than a body slam, lol. Yes, I do want to keep the friendship so I will try the treat thing & just make the princess stay here until the issue is resolved.

Thanks, thanks, thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

Sues2u2

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

