Hello, My Name is Susan

My first “A” & other things

Posted on: January 13, 2010

I survived my first assignment.  I thought I’d better let y’all know that right off.  Since I did everything I was instructed to do I wonder if this means I got an “A”?  My first “A”.  Aw, shucks.  I mean all I had to do was log into a certain program & once online email the instructor.  I think it went well.  It should’ve.  I mean it really wasn’t that hard once I booted the Princess off her Strawberry Shortcake site so that I could actually use the internet.  Guess I’d better plan on making sure my homework is sent in before the kids get home.  Such pressure.  Phew!

I’m sitting here feeling a little bit, well, guilty.  I’ve gone on & on about my disdain for most social networking sites & I’ve let the Prince have a Facebook account.  Of course it’s as private as I could possibly make it & I’ve got all of his passwords so that I can check & see what he’s up to.  Oh & I let the Princess watch over his shoulder.  If nothing else that should keep him on the straight & narrow.  He has realized that his little sister will sing like a canary (quite literally if you let her!) if he does anything he shouldn’t.  She’s @ that age ya know.  The one where they’re getting over tattling but still do it all the time?  Kinda like Brick on this last weeks episode of the middle.  His mom tells him that she can always tell when he’s lying & the show springs into a flashback of the little kid telling the mom something & then whispering to himself but loudly enough that everyone can hear him, that he’s lying.  That phase.

But back to the Prince & his new obsession.  Part of why I am feeling so guilty is that there is a age limit & I let him age himself by 3 months.  It’s not a lot but what am I teaching him?  I’ve tried so hard to teach him to not lie & then I let him go ahead & lie to the world.  Well, not really since his account is private & isn’t supposed to turn up on any of the search things.  Um hmm, right.  What kills me the most & I’m totally admitting to giving into social pressure here, is that he’s now “friends” w/ all of his friends from church.  The ones who are all YOUNGER than he is!  Like by 3 months.  Which means they are all only 12 1/2.  Ugh.  Being a mom is tough.  Having a conscience is just as tough!  Oh & I think it didn’t help @ all that Hubby didn’t see anything wrong w/ it.  The same Hubby who wouldn’t be caught dead w/ a Facebook, my space page, twitter account or a blog.  I really did feel outmaneuvered.  Yes, I’m totally trying to justify it.

And just so that y’all don’t think I’m always such a downer I’ve got a little bit of a joke that Hubby sent me today.  I love it & I want some too!

Yesterday I had a flat tire on the interstate. So I ease my car over to the
shoulder of the road, carefully get out of the car and open the trunk. I took
out 2 cardboard men, unfolded them and stood them at the rear of my car facing
oncoming traffic.

They look so lifelike you wouldn’t believe! They are in trench coats exposing
their nude bodies and private parts to the approaching drivers.

But to my surprise, cars start slowing down looking at my lifelike men. And of
course, traffic starts backing up. Everybody is tooting their horns and waving
like crazy. It wasn’t long before a state trooper pulls up behind me.
He gets out of his car and starts walking towards me. I could tell he was not
a happy camper!

‘What’s going on here?’

‘My car has a flat tire’, I said calmly.

‘Well, what the hell are those obscene cardboard men doing here by the road ?’
I couldn’t believe that he didn’t know.

So I told him, ‘Helloooooo, those are my emergency flashers!’

8 Responses to "My first “A” & other things"

Haha, love the joke!

And congrats on the A! That is great.

It was a great one, eh? Wonder where I can get some “flashers” too?

I am sooo happy that there was no facebook, myspace or twitter when my boys were growing up. That is too much pressure. The most I had to worry about was making sure they got picked up at the skating rink on time..oh yea, and all kinds of other stuff, but you get the drift.

I have to admit that I LOVE The Middle..not quite as much as Modern FAmily and Greys Anatomy, but pretty darn close…sooo funny.
.
Hey, I need some emergency flashers..that was so funny, I almost peed my pants..very good,.

I soooo wish sometimes that we’d had our kids earlier in our life together. It would have been a little easier.

I have never watched Modern Family. I think it comes on @ the same time as something else I tivo. BIG Greys fan. Can’t wait for tomorrow! Greys & Private Practice together again. Yahoo!

Oh brother! (flashers)

I may stay in bed all day tomorrow so I’m all rested up for Grey’s Anatomy!
Whoo!

Great idea! (stay in bed all day!!)

I think it’s okay since it’s only 3 months. Don’t feel guilty.

Oh I loved the funny!!! I giggled and giggled. I mean I could be blonde for that one. By the way, I love the linen dress. Good luck getting one and with the prince and his facebook. I haven’t gotten a notice that he asked for me to be his friend. I’ll check again though.

Love ya,
Mom

Leave a Reply

Sues2u2

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

