Hello, My Name is Susan

Yes, we’re back….

Posted on: December 14, 2009

Well, I’ve had a few phone calls & a few comments on here about where am I.  Here?  I’ve been busy, busy, busy trying to get things done before the kids are out for Christmas break @ the end of the this week.  I’m still trying to get my Christmas cards out that I planned on having done by Thanksgiving.  Next year I’ll have them done early.  For sure!

We did survive Thanksgiving but @ the time it felt like just barely.  See, Hubby took the kids & went up to Idaho to visit some of his family while I stayed to help get Thanksgiving ready plus run some errands that I desperately felt needed to be done.  Well, that night that they left Hubby & the Prince both started to vomit but they totally downplayed the whole thing.  They made it sound like they’d just eaten something that disagreed w/ them.  Me, being the awesome super intuitive mom that I am, let them get away w/ it & just cautioned them to drink more water & eat healthier foods.  You know.  Like oatmeal.  Yeah, guess it settled like a rock in the pits of their tummies.

Anyhoo, they came back to my parent’s (did I mention before we left that my parent’s super wonderful neighbors let us stay in the basement of their home while they were down here in Az?  I think I did but back to the story) & on the Wed before Thanksgiving my daughter started throwing up.  This was my first clue that all was not well.  I need to add here that this stuff was nasty.  Very violent & just plain bad.  I know you don’t need the graphics but let’s just say that both ends of the body were involved.  shudder, ugh! So the Princess finally starts to feel better on Thanksgiving but still isn’t eating anything (man, was I feeling guilty for having the Prince & Hubby eat oatmeal!) but we’re trying to keep her away from everyone.  Doesn’t work.  One of the nephews starts feeling bad & ends up throwing up but he only did a couple of times & didn’t get the diarrhea.  Thank heavens.

I, of course, didn’t get anything until early in the am on the morning of the day we were supposed to leave & then I not only got the stomach crap but I also caught the cold another nephew had AND my auntie flo decided that she needed to come back around even though she’d left the day before.  (just thought I’d throw that in for any possible sympathy.  It really was THAT bad)  This of course, delayed our trip for another day which left the Hubby out of sorts.  Yeah, it was such a lovely trip.  On the plus side though I did get 3 huge (deli size) bricks of extra mild cheddar from Gosselins as well as some Taffy Town Taffy (not quite the experience I’d hoped for).  Oh & I got to see New Moon w/ my youngest sister.  Let’s not get into New Moon although I will say that I much preferred this director’s vision of the movie vs the previous director.  That is all.

BUT!  I did get to visit w/ my family including my sweet 92 yr old Grandma (@ least for a min.  I avoided her a bit so that we wouldn’t give her the creepy cruds) & my parents, sisters, bil’s & nieces & nephews except one niece who is now old enough to have a job & couldn’t get off for the holiday.  We even had a “new family member” in the form of someone from my bil’s work place who came over.  That was one of my favorite things about the holiday’s when Hubby was still in the military.  We would invite single airmen/women over to spend the day w/ us.

I have so much more rambling to cover but for right now I’ve got to go.  The laundry waits for no woman!  I will admit though that I’m almost done w/ Christmas shopping & I’m thrilled!

3 Responses to "Yes, we’re back…."

I’m glad you’re back! Christmas time is always so overwhelming.

I am so jealous that you have your Christmas shopping all done. We thought we were doing much better BUT then started to wrap things up and realized we didn’t have it all done. Oh well!

Hey it’s good to see you back on the net. Have a good day.

Love ya,
Mom

I’m glad your back but sorry you’ve all been sick! We got a similar stomach bug last fall that was absolutely no fun!

Leave a Reply

Sues2u2

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

