Hello, My Name is Susan

What if?

Posted on: October 1, 2009

I mentioned on my old blog the problems that I’ve been having w/ menopause.  It truly is a frustrating thing for me.  One of the things that my dr did initially was run all kinds of blood tests to see how my body was functioning.  I found out things that really surprised me including the fact that my calcium was low & that I needed to incorporate more vitamin D into my life.  Now I go out into the sun for a little bit each day plus I’ve upped our dairy intake drastically to include milk @ every meal & some other type of dairy a couple of times a day.  One of the things that I was kinda interested in was if I had a thyroid problem.

Oh the thyroid.  Did you know that the range for a thyroid that is not functioning correctly is really wide & that drs are finding that even if your thyroid level is within the bounds of “normal” you can still have a problem?  Yeah, me neither.  Except I’m loosing my hair.  That is a really big thing.  It’s also a common symptom in thyroidism as are panic attacks, severe menstrual changes, skin problems, irritability, depression & many other things.  The really frightening thing is that in reading the list I have many of the symptoms & yet my dr dismissed them.  Hello?  My thyroid level puts me into hyperthyroidism & yet I have more symptoms of a sluggish thyroid.  As a matter of fact I have almost all of the symptoms.  Plus?  My mom & one of my sibs also have thyroid problems not to mention the fact that my daughter has a better than 80% chance that she will develop hyperthyroidism @ some point in her life.  I’ll go into those reasons another time.

Now, knowing that I’m not a dr or involved in the medical community anymore (haven’t been an emt for almost 20 yrs now) I do realize that there can be too much info online.  I know that I can look up other diseases & find that I’m similarly @ risk.  But ya know what?  It really pisses me off that my dr just totally dismissed my concerns!  Um, I realize that there were other things going on @ the time but really?  It can in large part be explained by thyroid problems.  It would really explain a lot.  Such as why anti depressants don’t work on me, well other than the fact that I have a weird body that has a reaction to every narcotic to the point where drs just don’t even want to bother going that route.  (surgery is more than a little bit tricky for me) I’m also allergic, as in severe rash & itching from the moment it touches my lips, to ibuprophine.

I’m going back into my dr to talk to her about this but I’m also in the process of making an appointment w/ an endocrinologist to have someone trained in this part of the body’s function, to actually evaluate me.  I think it’s a good thing that I’m not able to see my dr for a week as I’m still really upset.  It will be interesting to see what the endocrinologist says though.  I hope that I can get in soon & honestly?  I’m really hoping that my thyroid is part of my problem.  It would really make me feel better to have an actual diagnosis that is treatable.

4 Responses to "What if?"

I didn’t realize you finally started a blog! I’m so glad I clicked over from your comment!

We have laminate floors. I swiffer all the time! I love my swiffer!

Having gone from Graves disease (hyperthyroid) to now hypothyroid I can attest to how having thyroid problems totally wreaks havoc on your whole body. Finding the correct dose of medication is also a pain. The doctors looke at their charts for “normal range” but that “normal range” may not be normal for you. Good luck!

I finally went to a really good endocrinologist who raised my thyroid med to 0.88. It made a big difference. My general practitioner didn’t ask for extensive lab work as did the endocrinologist.

Leave a Reply

Sues2u2

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

