Hello, My Name is Susan

I’m back!!

Posted on: August 31, 2011

Sorry to have left y’all hanging. I couldn’t log in! A helpful person from wordpress named Chris finally managed to get me back in.

Update! Our house survived the fire. We lost two well pipes, some weeds (no big loss there!) & some trees & shrubs. We had other incidental damage (pool full of ash & mold, etc) but basically we’re fine. Our neighbors however weren’t so lucky. Everyone around us had some type of structural damage including one neighbor who left windows open for their swamp cooler & so had a home that smelled like smoke. The others all had fire damage. This was just on my side of the street. Across from us was almost completely burned out. Only two homes on the opposite side of the street remain. The rest are gone. Between my street & the next almost 50 homes were destroyed. A fireman who witnessed the blazed in my area said that it looked like a tornado that literally rolled over the top of my house. It amazes & humbles me that we still have a home.

So the fire danger for us is pretty much over right now since we’re nearing the end of our monsoon season. The fire did leave us a much bigger legacy in that for the next 3 – 5 yrs we can expect flash flooding in our area. Indeed every time it rains up on the mt we get stuck on our street because the road washes out. We have had a few flood issues on our property but nothing inside buildings. I find it very surreal sometimes to see all of this.

Right now it’s amazing because it’s so green. Easy to see where the big damage is because we used to have big beautiful oaks & now there’s these charred limbs stretching up to the sky. When I first got back I had to pull over because I was sobbing so hard. It looked like something out of a Tim Burton movie.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for your prayers, well wishes & support! I love you all & appreciate your kindness!!

Susan

5 Responses to "I’m back!!"

I’m so glad you guys are OK!

Thanks, Kristina. Can’t wait to look @ more of your posts!

So glad to hear you are okay and that your home is mostly okay, too! Welcome back!

Aw, thanks, Jen. It’s good to be back! Insurance covered our losses (Never rent/own w/o it!) so we’re good. Weird not having neighbors across & some behind us though. We were all spread out but still…

I am so glad our prayers were answered for you but wish the rest had been saved too. So hard to watch and not be able to do anything to help. We love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

Sues2u2

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

